Converting my mum to feminism

I wish I could tell my mum about feminism
I wish I could tell her to stop this sacrificing for the family shit
It’s funny it hurts to bad
It’s a fucking business
Rolling out invested concern to others and not yourself
I wish I could sit and tell her about this system called patriarchy
I wish I could teach her about self-care and self-love
And that you are a human with needs too
Stop sacrificing you for others
Go sit in a restaurant and have the most expensive meal
Do not give a shit about anyone but you
Go speak in Urdu to the waiters
And expect them to speak in your language
You are not a problem, everyone else is
But how do I speak to you
When we have an ocean between us
I lack the skill to speak, talk and express
I can’t speak your language
I speak the language of the coloniser, talking to the colonised
And my tongue falls
It trips over meaning
It dies in its expression
I fall, trip and die to explain things in your language
And it hurts, because White patriarchy is killing you

This is the most ironic fucking piece of shit I ever wrote
I’m trying to convert my mum to feminism
In a poem written in English
She doesn’t read or write English
This is the most painfully ironic fucking piece of shit I ever wrote
Pakistan and its region has some of the best poets in history
Fuck Shakespeare’s shit
And yet I’m writing a poem in English
That will probably sell to a white audience
Who loves to consume my pain

No
No, I am not confused between two cultures
That fact is
England still loves imperialism
We worship and remember it everyday
We pray for it
In our dreams, we conquer the world
England loves patriarchy
We polish it everyday
The English language is not the shit ok
To the English language, get over yer fucking self
You are not special

The most painful part
I cannot speak to my mother
In her language
There is some sick irony in that England let her colonies go
Yet let them come here
To do shit jobs for shit pay
And forever colonise their children’s minds

I want to teach her about colonialism
I want to teach her about feminism
I want to teach her about capitalism
Yet my tongue cannot roll
It falls,
It trips over meaning
It dies in its expression

Leave a Reply

